The Saturdays

screen-shot-2016-10-10-at-11-45-42-amThe Saturdays is the story of the four Melendy children who live in New York in the 1930s: Mona is thirteen years old and would love to become an actress, Rush has a talent for piano, Miranda (Randy) has a passion for dancing and painting, and little Oliver who is six and very kind. They live with their father, a professor in economics who lost his wife, and their housekeeper, Cuffy, whom they all love. One day, fed up of wasting their Saturdays, they decide to create the Independent Saturday Afternoon Adventure Club (I.S.A.A.C.). The plan is to put all their allowances together, and take turns spending all of it on each Saturday. This way, they can have at least one special Saturday each. Each child, on their day, gets to do exactly what she or he wants to. Each Saturday is therefore filled with great adventures for all these children… This is a hilarious story and I hope you can read it and laugh as much as I did. I strongly recommend it!


Rating: 5 Stars (5 / 5)

Release Date: 1941

Age Suggestion: 9-12

Author: Elizabeth Enright

Publishing House: Farrar & Rinehart





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *